Maintenance and closures

St Helena Tunnel

For the safety of workers and motorists, the St Helena tunnel is closed for maintenance every three months.

Upcoming maintenance and closures are scheduled for the following date:

  • Monday 22 August to Wednesday 24 August 2022
  • Monday 28 November to Wednesday 30 November 2022
  • Monday 27 February to Wednesday 1 March 2023
  • Monday 22 May to Wednesday 24 May 2023

*During each closure north and southbound traffic is diverted onto the Hinterland Way between the Byron Road interchange at Bangalow and the Ewingsdale Road interchange at Ewingsdale.

Tugun Tunnel

For the safety of workers and motorists, the Tugun Bypass tunnel is closed for maintenance every three months.

Upcoming maintenance and closures are scheduled for the following dates:

Tugun Bypass Tunnel

  • Sunday 14 August to Thursday 18 August 2022
  • Sunday 20 November to Thursday 24 November 2022
  • Sunday 19 February to Thursday 23 February 2023
  • Sunday 14 May to Thursday 18 May 2023

*During each closure north and southbound traffic is diverted onto the Gold Coast Highway and Stewart Road.